Google is Taking out the Trash

Starting October 13, 2020, Google Drive is making a change so that its trash behaves more consistently with the rest of the G Suite services with regards to automatic deletion. This means that any file that is put into Google Drive’s ‘My Drive’ trash will be automatically deleted after 30 days. Items in trash will still continue to consume quota. Please note that starting October 13, 2020 any files already in a user’s trash will remain there for 30 days. After the 30-day-period files that have been in the trash for longer than 30 days will begin to be automatically deleted. What does this mean for my organization? Any file that has been in the trash for longer than 30 days after October 13, 2020 will be automatically deleted. A few things to note: 

  • Files in shared drives trash are already automatically deleted after 30 days
  • These changes affect items that are trashed from any device and any platform
  • Files deleted from Drive File Stream will be purged from the system trash after 30 days. There is no impact to Backup and Sync behavior
  • GMail already deletes items in the trash after 30 days

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. By browsing this website, you agree to our use of cookies.